Epistolary
rob carlson . gallery . contact

Domain Support Group

Check out Paul Graham's article about them. They are apparently fond of fax scams to all sorts of businesses.

From: Dale Ghent
Subject: Domain scam alert
Date: Tue, 3 Dec 2002 13:25:49 -0500 (EST)
To: rob@vees.net

I was cold-called by an outfit called "Domain Support Group" today. I had never heard of these people before, but here's the story:

The girl on my phone sounded flaky, saying that my "domain was unreachable" and that they wanted to "fax me a notice". Bewildered, because the domain in question is registered through OpenSRS, I asked if she could email me the notice instead. She said she couldnt because "their systems were down"

Right.

So she proceeded to give me this 877 number to call, with some sort of "notice number" that was alpha-numeric. I then hung up.

Getting back to my desk, I googled "Domain Support Group" and discovered a bunch of similar complaints about this outfit. It's a scam. If you get a call from these people, hang up.


No Comments | #1990

Leave a Reply

Please let me know how you got here, if this page was useful to you, and your opinions.

Unless noted, all content on epistolary.org is © Copyright 1999-2008 to Rob Carlson with all rights reserved. All information is verified when possible, cited as appropriate and applied in the real world at your own risk. Send all feedback to rob@vees.net.